Feng Shui & Design

Feng Shui..

I still remember when I was a kid, watched a Hong Kong movie that used Feng Shui element. I saw it like a magic stuff, They use it in the battle and equiped with items, such as Coin Blade, Ba Gua, Umbrella, Charms etc. And I still remember 1 ‘weird’ thing in its episode which just move the vase in certain corner of the room will affect the relationship of people, another one is the horse statue planting that affect the business and health. At the end of the movie, It was found and break it! The result is the owner of the horse statue died…heartache…

Since then, I learned that Feng Shui was like a simple theory of “YES or NO / GOOD or BAD” in terms of putting or moving an object in certain corners. It’s like “something believe it or not” for me.

After graduated from Bina Nusantara University, searching for a job for about 2 – 3 months. Fortunately I got a call from my senior, Monica Wiguno. She asked me to work at her office. This is the fun part. The Office is a big house with a quite big garden. The first thing that caught in my eyes is its pool with…(HAH?) an 8 shaped rock/stone with “3 2 8” numbers on top. I can guess that the owner is a Chinese.

(The photo above was taken when flooding)

At the front door, there’s 2 big tall pillar with Dragon cravings, inside the guest room there’s a lot of flower, fishes (koi) and horses paintings, at the corner there’s a golden frog statue with coin in its mouth. VERY SACRED. In the main room there’s big “Phoenix” painting and a notification paper that write “Play Feng Shui Music Everyday” (o.O)

That’s the first time I enter a house with so much of Feng Shui and Chinese elements (except temple), I assumed the boss must be a fanatic Feng Shui believer. When I first met him, he’s quite young, a little bit.. shorty, fat. He’s a kind man actually.. but he’s not easy to deal with because all the job will be debated in Feng Shui ways. Sometimes it’s irritating.

We have to think harder to create a design that make him deal and sometime weird. Some projects:

  1. He want a Namecard design in “Ba Gua” shape designed by Monica;
  2. “Dragon” Logo Design, he counted the Dragon’s fingers and horns;
  3. “Earth” Logo Design, with gold color surrounded by rainbow aura (the bottom must be red and purple on top)
  4. “Phoenix” Logo Design must facing up and do not put inside the space.
  5. etc

When he’s around, we have to play the Feng Shui music.. actually it’s good for our mind.. but we often get sleepy to hear it over and over again. And one day.. when we’re concentrating with our job.. The boss walked around bringing a weird bell like item. He turned it and making some “EWUNG WUNG WUNGGG” sound (sonar?) then “TENG!” hit it! We’re all like…(o.O;). Maybe he want to hypnotize us.

There’s some story I can remember when I was working there. It was fun for my first working experience.

Hmm, sometime a little bit upset when involved Feng Shui in design, can’t use my own idealism. What I’m feeling now is designing logo for “SHANGRI-LA CAR WASH” that using stainless steel effect, It’s shiny and glossy, added the Red Maroon color to make it elegant combination. But some people said that it’s to dark, the stailess steel effect is GREY colour, Maroon is dark red color. It’s not good in Feng Shui terms. Then I have to “brighten” the logo.

Above is the comparison between my own ideal designed logo and the revision. I think the revision is too plain and clean, not realistic. Sometime I have to level down my design which make me sad until now.. but life must goes on.. Hopefully I can do more next time..

Sorry for complaining in this post.

One response

  1. ya…bgitulah -__- fengshui dan estetika kadang ga sejalan…
    emg bagusan logo pertama, ma, lebih idup…

    ayoo pamerin hasil2 karya lo lagi yaa 😀

Leave a Reply

