A Boy in Barcelona (Part IV)

May 7th 2013, Tuesday

I had a very sweet and tight sleep on my bed, received morning call at 5.45 am. Ahh so early.. I think I fell asleep again if I’m not wrong. After wake up, take a shower then having my first breakfast buffet in the hotel. Wow, so many food and so many people!! All people are the agent of Prudential! Back to the food – I think the hotel has adjusted the food into Asian food, because I know that Indonesia people are very selective (picky) in eating food and beverages. The hotel serves Salad, Cereal, Tapa, Pasta, Pie, Cakes & Cookies, Bread etc. I love the salad, various ingredient & fresh vegetables also salmon, yummy! but I don’t know how to mix it and I made it too salty.. to much olive oil ??? I ate almost everything..

209 BREAKFAST AT FIRA

After breakfast, we gathered at the hotel lobby. This time we will regroup based on the travel bus. I’m with bus 36 with Mr. Paulus Singgih as the Tour Leader. First destination today is Spanish Village (El Poble Espanyol), they said it is the miniature city of Spanish, as the comparison in Indonesia is Taman Mini Indonesia Indah. The miniature city/building has a great architeture design. What will we doing here ? We will create a history in Europe.

210 GROUP 36

All the Prudential agents are gathering here, it’s THOUSAND! On the main field of Spanish Village. There’s a big stage in front led by MC. They tried to line up the people.. but it’s hard.. so many people and the sun was so bright and hot. They hid under the shadow and some of them busy taking pictures first. Somehow I felt they’re so spoiled. Show must go on! What is the show ? Prudential will create a history – Making MURI Record “The Most People Dancing Tor-tor Indonesia Traditional dance in Europe.” That’s why Prudential provided us an ULOS. Ulos is the traditional cloth of the Batak people of North Sumatra. I love it! We wore it on our shoulder, on position – Pray pose hands, then we started dancing together in harmony led by the original Batak people who living in Barcelona.. Thousand people dancing together.. I’m proud! Glad to join and brought Indonesia culture and heritage in Europe. Being part of making history – MURI.

211 DANCING TOR TOR IN EUROPE

212 READY FOR TOR TOR

212 TOR TOR AND ME

After the dance, It’s a FREE time to explore the Spanish Village. Short history about this place has been built for Barcelona International Exhibition since 1929, They said after the exhibition is over, this place supposed to be destroyed. But This place is so beautiful and has a lot of positive impact, so they keep this place. It’s about 1600 model of ‘mini village’ building in here, all has a nice architecture and decorative style. You’re gonna love every single building you see.

A lot of shops & Cafe here, we can buy chocolate, cookies, souvenirs, painting, sculptures, art and craft etc here… The people also friendly. This place is very romantic! Very nice choice if we go with our lover, and take a pictures for Pre wed.. I love it! Every corners is beautiful. Classic~

213 SPANISH VILLAGE

214 SHOPS

215 THE TOWER

216 ALLEY AND FIELD

I love the art and craft of Barcelona (Spanish), detail and colorful in various style – Modern and Traditional. The signature style is Gaudi style that used colorful element on the artwork – mosaic style. Some artwork seem very vintage/antique. I wish I can buy them all, too bad no space available to place them all. You can see they’re so pretty if we put them together.. aren’t they ?

217 ARTS

I almost left by the bus because busy taking pictures.. haha! It’s time for lunch! We went to Port Olympic again. Now they took us to the local restaurant near the beach – El Tinglado • Monchos – Tapas & Restaurant. The restaurant is big, 2 blocks building with blue banners.. It’s a seafood restaurant I guess.. We will eat local food here, they serve (I don’t know the exact name): Egg Rolls, Potato Ball with meat filling, Salad, Tomato bread (?), Fish steak, Cake. Overall the foods are nice, I can eat them.. (the tomato bread is kinda hard like plastic).. Some people can’t eat.. They even brought Rendang and Rice for lunch all the way from Indonesia. They shared it together. I love the Salad, very nice.. I think they use turkey and eel for the topping, vegetable so fresh, probably the best salad I ever eat. The Fish steak is delicious, but wer’e guessing what is the fish? It didn’t taste like carp, dory or salmon. It’s tender and delicious. We asked.. it’s Swordfish! Wow, first time ate a swordfish steak.. good taste! Finish with a desserts – Chocolate cake, yummy!

218 EL TINGLADO - MONCHO'S

219 THE FOODS

This is what we do after having lunch, yeah! Take pictures as much as we can at the BEACH! It’s hot sunny day but windy.. I love beach.. love the blue sea and the blue sky.. wish I can swim.. but the beach kinda seem like desert haha.. no palm tree, not look like a tropical beach like Hawaii.

230 I LOVE BEACH

After lunch, we will go to the Barcelona Heritage place – Park Guell or we can say Park of Gaudi. I don’t know the detail but Gaudi is a great artist who involved with the Art Nouveau style. Art Nouveau is one of the greatest art style that using the curvy, wavy and floral element. In Park Guell, the local tour guide explain to us that Gaudi used to lived here.. He designed his house and garden with no straight line, all is curvy and acymmetric, so it’s kinda seem surreal and like in the fairy tale. His style is like using a lot pieces of broken colored glasses or rock and attached them into an artwork and even the cave, pillar, ceiling, wall, stair, fences. Seem like mosaic. I saw this style a long time ago and I just knew where is it came from now.

231 PARK GUELL

The special spot here is the Water Dragon (Salamander) called El Drac statue and the churches. El drac is a signature or symbol of Barcelona city. Despite as a symbol, El Drac also has a functional as irrigation with the water that flowing from the mouth. They say the water is pure and we can drink it for treatment, but now it’s not flowing.. ~sigh. A lot of people take picture here.. It’s hard to get picture here.. so crowded.

232 ME & GAUDI PARK

233 GREEN

234 JUMPING AND FLYING

Just a short trip here, we have to go to another place.. I think this is the time for the ladies to go crazy – It’s shopping time! We will go to the shopping district – La Rambla. I feel a different atmosphere here.. A lot of shop with nice architecture along the street, It has a big main street and central park, theatre, also cafe and restaurant. There’s a lot of branded store here, If you have a lot of money.. you can shop until you drop! Fashion, bags, Souvenirs…  It’s a nice weather to walk along the street and watching historical and beautiful building around, Art and the lifestyle of Barcelona people. We’re as the tourists got a priviledge 10% discount to shop at the famous department store, El Corte Ingles’  and also a welcome snack: Tapa & a glass of Red Wine… ♥♥

235 THE CITY

237 WINE & TAPA

Tapas are a wide variety of appetizers, or snacks, in Spanish cuisine. Somehow I think it’s like baked pasta with egg. Eat Tapas serves with Red wine.. you knew I love red wine.. It’s perfect. Relax and looking to the park..  I feel so lucky to enjoy this moment..

236 ME & BRO

237 ME & THE PARK

I walked along the street, saw people sitting on the bench, jogging, walk with their pet, I feel nice. I bought some magnet souvenirs – various design, made me hard to choose haha. Sometime I took picture of the nice building, and I looooveeee the park! Wide open space with flowers, fountain and a lot of pigeon! I love the pigeons.. you can see how I’m excited with birds at my previous blog when I was in Kuala Lumpur.. Too bad now I’m alone.. so It’s hard to take a picture with birds. So happy to be here. I wish Jakarta also has this kind of park in the city…  We have free time to walk, hang out, eat and shopping until 8 pm. Back to the hotel and rest.. Tommorow is a new day.

One response

Leave a Reply

